With the support of grants from the Markle Foundation and the Ford Foundation, the McGannon Center has been developing an archive of in-depth interviews with important figures in the history and development of the television industry in the United States, with a particular emphasis on regulation and policy issues and events.

These interviews are being archived at Fordham University’s Walsh Library, and ultimately will be available on-line for research and teaching purposes.  It is hoped that the TV Oral History Project will prove a useful resource for students, scholars, industry professionals, and others interested in developing a greater understanding of the history and evolution of the U.S. television industry.  The lead interviewer for the TV Oral History Project is Margot Hardenbergh, faculty member in the Department of Communication and Media Studies.  The interviews are now accessible online.

Individuals who have generously donated their time to be interviewed for the TV Oral History Project include:

Jack Bowen
, broadcast advertising pioneer;
William Bresnan, former CEO and President of Bresnan Communications;
Kenneth Cox, former FCC Commissioner;
James Day, President of WNET;
Lawrence Freiberg, former President of WNEW;
Henry Geller, former General Council for the FCC;
Herb Granath, Senior Vice President of ABC;
Larry Grossman, former President of NBC News;
Gustav Hauser, former President Warner/Amex Cable;
Richard Hirsch
, Catholic broadcasting pioneer;
Donald Hyatt, documentary filmmaker;    
Gene Jankowski, former President of CBS;
Norman Lear, television series producer/creator/writer;
Newton Minow, former FCC Chairman;
Irene Murphy-McInerney, former actress for Dumont Television;
Richard M. Pack, former Senior Vice President of Group W Stations;
Everett Parker, former Director of United Church of Christ Communications Office;
Randall Pinkston, CBS correspondent, one of first African-American news anchors;
Henry Rivera, former FCC Commissioner;
Marlene Sanders, first woman to anchor prime-time network newscast;
George Stoney, independent documentary film maker;
Don Taffner, President of Don Taffner, Inc.;
Arthur Taylor, former President of CBS;
Carolyn Wall, General Manager of WNYW;
Al Wasserman, independent documentary film maker;
Av Westin, broadcast journalist;
Richard Wiley, former FCC Chairman